Characters and context in novels

I felt like this when I finished reading The Light Between Oceans by M L Stedman.  Sometimes the characters stay with me and I really want to know what happens to them after the story ends! . What makes a good character in a novel?  I think the shape of the personality and consistency makes a character believable. When there is a sense of their vulnerability and when it is something I can identify with, that all creates a relationship with the fictional character. The more I think about context, the more I see how it is essential in each of the areas of creative arts.  Communicating through words or images or sound must resonate in some way with the perceiver.

Leave a Reply

