Project 2 Its about time : Exercise 1

Exercise 1

Notes on first impressions on how each photograph conveys movement
Passing Place by Derek Trillo shows the figures facing one another and because they are blurred and the hand rail is not, there is a sense of movement. The vertical lines and colour balance the dark blurred figures.
The bullet passing through the apple is an extraordinary piece showing the passage of time and direction the bullet has taken and then capturing the bullet in midair. The explosive parts of the apple indicate the force and speed.
Harold Edgerton’s image of a tennis serve captures the direction of the movement of the person and the racquet with multiple images. As a black and white image it emphasizes the movement through the contrast.
The image of “Cousin Bichonade in Flight” appears to be the moment after she jumped and before she reached the ground. A wonderful moment of suspended animation.

 

I tried several ways to capture movement, taking photographs of a moving train, cars, birds and leaves in the wind. None of them worked because the camera held the moment static much as Cousin Bichonade was held midair. With my attempts there was no narrative and no context. I thought about the images described above and realized that  I do not know how to take photos with that level of technical expertise, I looked for a way to show the body in movement. After watching children running, I found there were things  that were  different when the body is moving to when it is still. The weight is distributed differently.
adrian-runningI finally took a photo that indicates that the man is running because of the wide stance, angles of the legs and feet, and the way his jacket is lifting slightly. The exercise was more difficult than I imagined.

 

Thoughts after reading the commentary

 

I feel I understood much of what was being conveyed, but I still do not understand how I would create an image such as the tennis serve or any of the others!

 

As a beginner, I am amazed at the possibilities and although I do understand animation, it is remarkable to see the images of the horse in this way.
I tried several ways to capture movement, taking photographs of a moving train, cars, birds and leaves in the wind. None of them worked because the camera held the moment much as Cousin Bichonade was held midair. With my attempts there was no narrative and no context. I thought about the images described above and realized that because I do not know how to take photos with that level of technical expertise  I had to look for other  ways  to show the body in movement.

 

Leave a Reply

